The Perfect Guide to Understanding the Different Types of Steak Doneness

When it comes to cooking steak, the level of doneness refers to how well the meat is cooked. Here are the common types of steak doneness:

1. Rare

Rare steak is cooked very briefly, resulting in a warm red center. The exterior is seared, but the center remains cool. It has a soft and tender texture.

2. Medium Rare

Medium rare steak has a warm red center with a slightly pinkish hue. The exterior is well-seared, and the meat is juicy and tender. This is a popular level of doneness for steak enthusiasts.

3. Medium

Medium steak has a pink center with a bit of redness. The exterior is well-browned, and the meat is still juicy but slightly firmer compared to medium rare.

4. Medium Well

Medium well steak has a small amount of pinkness in the center but is mostly cooked through. The exterior is browned, and the meat is less juicy and slightly firmer.

5. Well Done

Well-done steak is fully cooked with no pinkness in the center. The meat is browned throughout and has a firmer texture. It is cooked for a longer time to ensure thorough doneness.

These are the general categories of steak doneness, but it’s worth noting that personal preferences may vary. It’s important to use a meat thermometer to ensure the desired level of doneness is achieved, as cooking times can vary depending on the thickness and cut of the steak. Remember to let the steak rest for a few minutes before cutting into it to allow the juices to redistribute for a more flavorful result.