Raccoons Revealed: Uncovering the Different Types of Raccoons

There are several species and subspecies of raccoons. The most well-known and widespread species is the common raccoon (Procyon lotor), but there are also other species with more limited distributions. Here are some types of raccoons:

1. Common Raccoon (Procyon lotor):

The common raccoon is found throughout North America and is known for its distinctive black mask, ringed tail, and grayish-brown fur. It is the most familiar and widespread species of raccoon.

2. Crab-eating Raccoon (Procyon cancrivorus):

The crab-eating raccoon is native to Central and South America. It is slightly smaller than the common raccoon and has a more varied diet, including crabs, fish, fruits, and insects.

3. Cozumel Raccoon (Procyon pygmaeus):

The Cozumel raccoon is an endemic species found only on the island of Cozumel in Mexico. It is smaller than the common raccoon and has a more reddish-brown fur color.

4. Tres Marias Raccoon (Procyon lotor insularis):

The Tres Marias raccoon is a subspecies of the common raccoon found on the Tres Marias Islands off the Pacific coast of Mexico. It is smaller in size and has a darker and grayer fur compared to the mainland raccoons.

5. Guadeloupe Raccoon (Procyon lotor minor):

The Guadeloupe raccoon is an endangered subspecies found only on the island of Guadeloupe in the Caribbean. It is smaller than the common raccoon and has a more reddish coloration.

These are just a few examples of the different types of raccoons found in various regions. Each species or subspecies may have specific adaptations and characteristics suited to their particular habitats and environments.