Everything You Need to Know About the Different Types of Passport in India

In India, there are three main types of passports issued by the Ministry of External Affairs:

1. Ordinary Passport (Type P)

The Ordinary Passport is the most common type of passport issued to Indian citizens for general travel purposes. It is a blue-colored booklet and is valid for 10 years (for adults) or 5 years (for minors below 18 years of age) from the date of issue. This passport allows individuals to travel internationally for tourism, business, education, or personal reasons.

2. Official Passport (Type S)

Official Passports are issued to individuals who hold a government position, work for government organizations, or travel for official government business. These passports are typically maroon or gray in color and are valid for 10 years. Official Passports are subject to specific restrictions and are only used for official travel purposes.

3. Diplomatic Passport (Type D)

Diplomatic Passports are issued to diplomats, top-ranking government officials, and individuals representing the Indian government on diplomatic missions. These passports are white or maroon in color and are valid for 5 years. Diplomatic Passports grant certain privileges and immunities to individuals while traveling on official diplomatic assignments.

It is important to note that these are the primary types of passports issued in India. However, there may be additional variations or specialized passports for specific purposes or categories of individuals, such as emergency passports or passports for individuals in certain unique situations.

It is always recommended to check with the Indian Ministry of External Affairs or the official passport website for the most up-to-date information regarding passport types and requirements in India.