Ketogenic Diet Basics: Types of Foods You Can Eat on the Keto Diet

Types of Foods in the Ketogenic Diet

The ketogenic diet, commonly known as the keto diet, is a low-carbohydrate, high-fat diet that promotes the body’s utilization of fat as the primary source of energy. Here are some examples of foods typically consumed in the ketogenic diet:

1. Healthy Fats

– Avocado
– Olive oil
– Coconut oil
– Butter
– Ghee
– Nuts and seeds (e.g., almonds, walnuts, chia seeds, flaxseeds)

2. Protein Sources

– Meat (e.g., beef, pork, lamb, poultry)
– Fish and seafood (e.g., salmon, tuna, shrimp)
– Eggs
– Greek yogurt
– Cottage cheese

3. Low-Carb Vegetables

– Leafy greens (e.g., spinach, kale, lettuce)
– Cruciferous vegetables (e.g., broccoli, cauliflower, Brussels sprouts)
– Zucchini
– Bell peppers
– Asparagus
– Cabbage

4. Full-Fat Dairy Products

– Cheese (e.g., cheddar, mozzarella, feta)
– Heavy cream
– Sour cream
– Cream cheese

5. Low-Sugar Fruits (in Moderation)

– Berries (e.g., strawberries, blueberries, raspberries)
– Avocado
– Tomatoes

6. Beverages

– Water
– Coffee (black or with added cream)
– Tea (unsweetened)

It’s important to note that the ketogenic diet restricts carbohydrate intake to a very low level, typically around 20-50 grams per day, to achieve and maintain a state of ketosis. This means avoiding or minimizing foods high in carbohydrates such as grains, legumes, starchy vegetables, and most fruits. It is advisable to work with a healthcare professional or registered dietitian to ensure that the ketogenic diet is suitable for your individual needs and to create a well-balanced meal plan that meets your nutritional requirements.