An Overview of Different Types of Fibroids: What You Need to Know

Types of Fibroids

Fibroids are non-cancerous growths that develop in or around the uterus. They can vary in size, number, and location. Here are the different types of fibroids:

1. Intramural Fibroids

Intramural fibroids are the most common type and develop within the muscular wall of the uterus. They can cause the uterus to become enlarged and may lead to heavy menstrual bleeding, pelvic pain, and pressure symptoms.

2. Subserosal Fibroids

Subserosal fibroids grow on the outer wall of the uterus, protruding outward. They can cause pressure on nearby organs and lead to symptoms such as back pain, urinary frequency, and digestive issues.

3. Submucosal Fibroids

Submucosal fibroids develop just underneath the lining of the uterine cavity. They can cause heavy or prolonged menstrual bleeding and may lead to fertility issues or recurrent miscarriages.

4. Pedunculated Fibroids

Pedunculated fibroids are attached to the uterus by a stalk or peduncle. They can be either subserosal or submucosal in nature. Depending on their location and size, they may cause symptoms similar to the respective types of fibroids.

It is also possible to have a combination of different fibroid types, and the symptoms can vary from person to person. If you suspect you have fibroids or are experiencing symptoms, it is important to consult with a healthcare professional for an accurate diagnosis and appropriate management options.