DVI Connectors Explained: An Overview of the Different Types

Types of DVI Connectors

DVI (Digital Visual Interface) is a common video interface used to transmit digital video signals between devices such as computers, monitors, and projectors. There are several types of DVI connectors available, each with its own configuration and capabilities. Here are the main types of DVI connectors:

DVI-D (Digital)

DVI-D is a digital-only DVI connector that supports digital video signals. It carries a pure digital video signal without any analog component. DVI-D connectors have a single horizontal row of pins, and they are commonly used for connecting digital displays, such as computer monitors and HDTVs.

DVI-I (Integrated)

DVI-I is an integrated DVI connector that supports both digital and analog video signals. It can transmit both digital and analog signals simultaneously or independently. DVI-I connectors have three rows of pins – a single horizontal row for digital signals and two rows on either side for analog signals. This type of connector is versatile and can be used to connect both digital and analog displays.

Dual-Link DVI

Dual-Link DVI is an extension of DVI-D and DVI-I connectors that supports higher resolutions and refresh rates. It provides increased bandwidth by using additional pins, allowing for higher-quality video transmission. Dual-Link DVI connectors have more pins and a wider structure compared to single-link connectors. They are commonly used for high-resolution displays, such as 1440p and 4K monitors.

DVI-A (Analog)

DVI-A is an analog-only DVI connector that carries analog video signals. It is primarily used for transmitting analog signals from older devices, such as VGA adapters or analog monitors. DVI-A connectors have two rows of pins on either side, which are used for analog video signals.

It’s important to note that while DVI connectors are still used in some devices, newer video standards such as HDMI (High-Definition Multimedia Interface) and DisplayPort are more commonly used today. These newer standards offer enhanced capabilities and compatibility with a wider range of devices.