Everything You Need to Know About Types of Drivers Licenses in Florida

Types of Driver’s Licenses in Florida

Florida offers several types of driver’s licenses to accommodate different purposes and needs. Here are the main types of driver’s licenses available in Florida:

1. Class E License

The Class E driver’s license is the most common type and is issued to most drivers in Florida. It allows you to operate regular passenger vehicles, including cars, trucks, and SUVs, as long as the vehicle’s weight does not exceed 26,001 pounds and is not designed to carry more than 14 passengers.

2. Class A, B, and C Commercial Driver’s License (CDL)

Commercial Driver’s Licenses (CDLs) are required for individuals who operate commercial motor vehicles (CMVs) for commercial purposes. Florida offers three classes of CDLs: Class A, Class B, and Class C, depending on the type of vehicle and cargo being transported. Each class has specific endorsements and restrictions based on the type of CMV operation.

3. Learner’s License

A Learner’s License is issued to individuals who are at least 15 years old and want to practice driving under the supervision of a licensed adult. It allows the holder to drive only when accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old and occupies the front passenger seat.

4. Motorcycle-Only License

A Motorcycle-Only License is issued to individuals who wish to operate motorcycles and have no intention of driving other types of vehicles. It requires passing a separate written test and a skills test specific to motorcycle operation.

5. Commercial Learner’s Permit (CLP)

A Commercial Learner’s Permit (CLP) is a permit that allows individuals to practice driving commercial vehicles in preparation for obtaining a CDL. It requires passing the applicable knowledge and skills tests.

6. Identification Card

Florida also issues Identification Cards for individuals who do not drive or prefer not to obtain a driver’s license but still need a valid form of identification.

It’s important to note that certain endorsements and restrictions may apply to different license types, such as the Passenger or School Bus endorsement for CDL holders. The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) provides detailed information on each license type and the specific requirements for obtaining and maintaining them.