Everything You Need to Know About Colorado’s Different Types of Drivers Licenses

Types of Driver’s Licenses in Colorado

Colorado offers various types of driver’s licenses to meet different driving needs and qualifications. Here are the main types of driver’s licenses available in Colorado:

1. Class R License

The Class R license is the standard driver’s license for operating regular passenger cars, trucks, and vans.

2. Motorcycle License (Class M)

A Motorcycle License is required for operating motorcycles, motorbikes, scooters, and other two-wheeled vehicles. Colorado offers both a Class M endorsement for individuals who already hold a valid driver’s license and a standalone Class M license for those who only want to operate motorcycles.

3. Commercial Driver’s License (CDL)

The Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) is required for operating commercial vehicles, including large trucks, buses, and vehicles carrying hazardous materials. Colorado offers various CDL classes and endorsements based on the vehicle type and specific job requirements.

4. Instruction Permit

An Instruction Permit, also known as a learner’s permit, allows individuals to practice driving under the supervision of a licensed adult. Colorado offers both a Class R Instruction Permit for regular passenger vehicles and a Class M Instruction Permit for motorcycles.

5. Minor Driver’s License

A Minor Driver’s License is issued to individuals who are between 16 and 21 years old. It comes with certain restrictions, such as nighttime driving limitations and passenger restrictions, which are gradually lifted as the driver gains experience and reaches the age of 21.

6. Minor Instruction Permit

A Minor Instruction Permit is a learner’s permit specifically for individuals under 18 years old. It allows them to practice driving under the supervision of a licensed adult.

7. Driver’s License for Undocumented Individuals

Colorado offers a driver’s license option for undocumented individuals who cannot provide proof of legal presence in the United States. This license is marked with a “Not Valid for Federal Identification” designation and is limited to driving privileges within the state.

These are the main types of driver’s licenses available in Colorado. Each type may have specific requirements, restrictions, and testing processes, so it’s important to refer to the Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) for detailed information on each license type and the specific requirements for obtaining and maintaining them.