Exploring Asian Ethnicities: A Guide to the Different Types of Asians

Types of Asian Ethnicities

Asia is the largest and most diverse continent, home to a wide range of ethnic groups with distinct languages, cultures, and histories. Here are some major Asian ethnicities:

1. East Asian

– Chinese: Han Chinese, Cantonese, Hakka, Hokkien, etc.
– Japanese
– Korean

2. Southeast Asian

– Thai
– Vietnamese
– Filipino
– Indonesian
– Malaysian
– Cambodian
– Burmese
– Singaporean

3. South Asian

– Indian: Indo-Aryan (e.g., Hindi, Bengali), Dravidian (e.g., Tamil, Telugu)
– Pakistani
– Bangladeshi
– Sri Lankan
– Nepalese

4. Central Asian

– Kazakh
– Uzbek
– Kyrgyz
– Tajik
– Turkmen

5. West Asian/Middle Eastern

– Arab: Saudi Arabian, Iraqi, Egyptian, Lebanese, etc.
– Iranian/Persian
– Turkish
– Israeli
– Kurdish

6. Siberian and Far Eastern

– Siberian Indigenous Peoples: Yakut, Buryat, Evenki, Chukchi, etc.
– Far Eastern Russian: Russian population in the Russian Far East, such as in Primorsky Krai and Khabarovsk Krai.

Please note that this is not an exhaustive list, and there are many more ethnic groups and subgroups within each category. The diversity within Asian ethnicities is vast, reflecting the rich cultural tapestry of the continent.